TikTok Story is an incredible feature that allows you to connect with your friends and audiences on the platform. TikTok users love to post stories on a regular basis to keep their followers engaged and entertain them. However, what if someone has accidentally posted a TikTok Story and wants to delete it? It gets even worse if the user doesn’t even know How to Delete TikTok Story.
TikTok stories are brief video clips or portions that can be no longer than 15 seconds in length. However, if you want to post a longer video as a Story, you can make short portions of that video (15 seconds each) and post them in the right order so the viewer can enjoy a whole video through your Story. Previously I posted about the method to solve the TikTok Comments Issue and similarly in this article, you will find the best way to delete a TikTok Story.
Stories Feature on TikTok
You may have seen a stories panel on TikTok while using the app because the feature of stories on TikTok is launched recently with a new update. Through this feature, users have the ability to create content in the form of short stories just like Instagram that they can then post to their profiles so that other users can view it.
Are TikTok Stories Permanent?
Just like the stories feature of other social media platforms, TikTok stories are not permanent and they automatically disappear after 24 hours of posting time. You don’t have to delete your posted video or photos from your Story manually because TikTok deletes them after the completion of 24 hours sharp. However, if you want to delete your TikTok Story before 24 hours you have to use the simple method discussed below:
How to Delete TikTok Story?
- First of all, open the app and Log in to your TikTok account.
- Then go to your profile by pressing the profile icon from the bottom of your screen.
- Now, tap on the display picture of your profile to view your Story.
- After opening your Story, you will see an icon of three lines known as a Menu.
- Press the Menu icon and a pop-up will appear with three options: Save Video, Privacy Settings, and Delete.
- Simply press the Delete button to confirm and your Story will be deleted without any delay.
No one will ever get a notification that you have deleted a Story from your profile. However, after deleting a Story, you will not be able to get it back on your profile.
How to Check if The Story Has Been Deleted Successfully?
You can refresh the page or close the app and start it again to see if the unwanted Story has been successfully deleted from your TikTok profile. The best way to prevent this issue is to completely check your Story before posting it on TikTok in order to avoid posting any unwanted stories.
How The Deletion of the TikTok Story Can Affect my TikTok Account?
TikTok does not allow you to reply or message someone in response to their stories on Facebook and Insta. However, you can share the stories (of your friends), react to the stories by using emojis, and also add comments on their stories. So, after the deletion of your Story, no private messages will be affected due to this reason.
TikTok is the only social media app that does not notify other users about the changes you made to your profile and stories. As you can easily mark any TikTok video as your favorite with complete privacy. Similarly, you can delete any TikTok Story without being concerned about the notifications. Moreover, you can also make any changes to your TikTok Story without informing others due to its amazing and unique “notifications privacy”.
Once you have deleted your Story from TikTok, it will be completely removed from everyone’s access on a permanent basis. TikTok has not included the feature of adding your Story to the archives or highlighting the stories like the Instagram app.
How Can I Check If My TikTok Story Has Been Posted?
When you open your TikTok account after posting your Story, you will see a blue ring around your display picture which shows that you have posted a Story on TikTok and it is visible to other users as well. Your followers will also see the same thing on your profile and your stories will also be visible to them when they visit their “following” page.
Why am I Unable to Delete my TikTok Story?
If you are unable to delete your Story on TikTok by using the above-mentioned method, then there is something wrong with the TikTok app or your internet connection. There might be a glitch in the app or the TikTok server might be down due to some maintenance which is causing instability and issues in the app. In this case, you should wait for at least 20 minutes and then give it another shot.
Moreover, the internet connectivity issue can also cause this problem. So, you should also check your internet connection and try restarting your internet device. If you are using a slow and unstable internet connection, you should connect your device to a stable and strong internet.
It’s quite easy to delete a TikTok Story if you don’t want to show it any longer to your followers and friends. You just have to open your TikTok application, go to your profile, click on your profile photo, press the menu icon of three lines from the bottom, and click on the option of Delete. After that, you have to confirm your action by pressing the delete button again and your Story will be deleted permanently from TikTok.