With the help of the Snap Map feature users of Snapchat can share their real-time locations with their friends. When you share your location with a friend, that friend will be able to see a Bitmoji icon showing your live location in real-time. Moreover, you can also choose with whom you want to share your location. However, today I will provide you with complete information regarding the frequently asked question by Snapchat users “Does Snapchat Location Turn Off When Phone Dies?”.
So, the simple and precise answer to this question is “Yes”. The Snapchat location only works while your mobile phone is turned on and when your phone dies the location will be automatically turned off. However, It will show the user’s most recent location, and after eight hours of inactivity, it will be removed as well.
Snapchat is a great social media app as it can also track the location of your family, friends, and other loved ones. If you have shared your location with any of your friends, they will see your Bitmoji on the map where you are currently staying. Being said that, you can also choose who can view your location and hide your location from your friends through numerous ways.
How to Restrict Others From Accessing Your Snapchat Location?
In order to function properly, the Snap Map examines all of your contacts nearby and shows their Bitmojis on a Snap Map. You can also view the stories and snaps of your contacts instantly from the map. Moreover, If you are facing an issue in loading pictures on the app, you can solve it through these 9 effective methods.
There are several privacy controls that you can adjust to restrict others from accessing your live location on Snapchat:
Ghost Mode – When ghost mode is activated, it does exactly what its name suggests: it covers up your location movement on the Snap Map and hides it from other users. However, if someone chooses to share his/her location with you, you will be able to view their Bitmoji, but they will not be able to view yours.
My Friends – After enabling the “My friends” option, Your friends are the only people who can see your location on the Snap Map.
Selected Friend – If you want to show your location only to the selected friends, You have the ability to pick and choose some friends with whom you want to share your location.
Why Does My Snapchat Location Turn Off When my Phone Dies?
when your phone battery runs out, Snap Map won’t just stop working on its own. It will keep showing the last recorded location when your phone battery died. However, after eight hours your location Bitmoji will disappear due to inactivity. Snapchat will only demonstrate your actual location on the Map based on your activities. If the battery in your phone runs out, you will be unable to use it and therefore you will be considered inactive.
Does Bitmoji Disappear When Battery Dies?
Yes, your Bitmoji will be shown until eight hours of inactivity on the app. Right after eight hours, your Bitmoji will be removed from the Snap Map and your friends will not be able to locate you on the map.
Why My Location Disappeared on Snapchat?
Inactivity – If you haven’t used the Snapchat application for the last eight hours, Snapchat will consider you inactive and as a result, it removes your location from the map of your friends. So, eight hours of activity are enough to stop your location on Snapchat.
Location Turned Off – You can check your location settings on your mobile phone because sometimes the location access is turned off and you keep wondering why your location is not appearing on Snap Map.
No internet Access – Probably, you are using a weaker internet connection or your device is disconnected from the internet due to which your location is inaccessible on Snapchat.
App Deleted – If you have uninstalled the Snapchat app, your location will be shown until eight hours but after that, your friends won’t be able to see your location.
App Glitch – It is common for Snapchat to have glitches and bugs. So, it is quite possible that your location is not appearing to your friend due to a glitch. You can wait and update the Snapchat app until the glitch gets fixed by the App developers.
What Does my Snap Map Shows When I Sleep?
Snapchat figures out when you are sleeping, with the help of your recent activity and time. if you don’t do anything for a certain number of hours at a specific time, Snapchat shows the “Z” letter on your Bitmoji as a sign of sleep.
How Can I Check My Snap Map Through Snapchat?
- Open the Snapchat app and Sign in to your account.
- The Snapchat camera will appear on the very first screen and then you will find a row of five icons at the very bottom of the screen.
- To access your Snap Map, go to the bottom left side of the screen and select the location icon.
- Here you will find three options, Places, Bitmoji, and Friends. In order to view your friend’s location who is also using Snapchat, select the third option.
If Someone Looks For me on The Snap Map, will I Get a Notification?
No, you will not receive a notification from Snapchat if someone views your location on the Snap Map. however, if you have set up a status on your Snap Map which shows your activity like swimming, playing or running, etc. you will be notified when someone views it. This temporary status will be removed automatically as soon as the person leaves the area.
Snapchat is an amazing social media platform through which you can connect with your friends and also track their location on the Snap Map. However, numerous users are still clueless about the simple question i.e Does Snapchat Location Turn Off When Phone Dies? The reason for this is that Snapchat displays your last recorded location for eight hours after your phone dies. Moreover, you can also hide your location from your friends by turning on Ghost Mode or Friends Mode according to your choice.