Snapchat is an extremely popular photo and video-sharing app among young people and is known for its features that make its messages disappear after a set amount of time. However, not everyone seems happy with this social media app mainly because anyone on the platform can access the pictures and videos created by users. It is not acceptable for people who are concerned about their personal space and privacy. However, users don’t want to delete the account permanently so the question is “can you deactivate Snapchat on a temporary basis?” Let’s find out.
Snapchat allows users to “deactivate” their accounts rather than “delete” them. There are, however, a few things to keep in mind, such as how the Snapchat deletion and deactivation process operates. The time limit before a deactivated Snapchat account is permanently deleted is another issue.
What is The Time Limit to Deactivate and Reactivate The Snapchat Account?
Once you deactivate your account, you will not be able to use the platform anymore. However, if you want to reactivate your Snapchat account, you can get it back within a period of 30 days. If you did not activate your account within 30 days, you will never be able to get it again and your account will be permanently deleted.
How to Deactivate a Snapchat Account?
I have already covered how the 30-day “cooling off” period built into Snapchat’s deactivation process gives you ample opportunity to reconsider your decision. However, you can take a break from Snapchat by deactivating the Snapchat account in the following way:
- First of all, open Snapchat and go to your account.
- From this point, scroll all the way down the page to find the option to “Delete My Account.”
- When you click this, you’ll be taken to a “Delete Account” section where you can learn more about the steps involved.
- Then, provide your login credentials and click on the yellow-colored “Continue” option.
- After that, The public can no longer see your Snapchat profile because it is deactivated successfully. Your account will be deleted after 30 days automatically.
How to Delete a Snapchat Account?
A large number of users want to delete their Snapchat accounts on a permanent basis for various reasons. For example, if you want to delete multiple friends simultaneously on Snapchat, you can delete them conveniently by deleting your account. In this case, you don’t have to perform any further action to delete your account because it will be deleted automatically after one month.
How to Save My Instagram Data?
Unless you reactivate your Snapchat account within the 30-day grace period, you will lose access to your data. If you want to save any of the information stored in your Snapchat account, you should download it before you delete the account.
- For this purpose, sign in to your account first. Accounts that require two-factor authentication may send you a verification code via text message.
- After that, click on the option of “My Data” and then press submit a request button by scrolling down.
- Now, you will have to provide your email address that is registered with your Snapchat account.
- An email with a download link for the data file will be sent to you by Snapchat. The file may contain a variety of information, such as Bitmoji, Search history, Friends, Memories, Chat History, Snap History, User Profile, etc.
How to Reactivate Your Snapchat Account?
It is simple to reactivate your Snapchat account within a month after canceling it, in the event that you quickly come to regret your decision. You simply need to launch the application once more and sign in using the previous credentials you used.
Once you have received a reactivation email, you will be able to log back into your Snap account as if you had never been absent from it. This process may take a few moments. All of your conversations, memories, Bitmoji and other content will be available to you again.
However, after a period of thirty days has passed, the record of your account will be permanently removed. You will need to sign up for a brand new account if you plan on using Snapchat more than once.
What Kind of Information Snapchat Stores?
Snapchat saves the following three categories of data:
- The information you provide or enter in the app manually.
- The information it gathers from your device like location, cookies, etc.
- Third-party app information such as advertiser’s data.
What Happens When You Delete Snapchat From Your Device?
- Messages – You will not be able to send or receive messages on the Snapchat app after account deactivation.
- Snap Map – You will not be able to use the Snap Map features to find the locations of your friends after deactivating your account.
- Account Data – Your profile will not be visible to your friends or other people if you have deactivated it. However, your profile data including chats, stories, snaps, and preferred settings will not be deleted before the 30 days period.
- Friends – Your friends will not be able to find you on Snapchat but they will not be removed from your account and you can retrieve them back by reactivating your account.
Can You Deactivate Snapchat and reactivate it again? Yes, you can easily deactivate your account on Snapchat and reactivate it again when you want to use it. The Snapchat account allows you to deactivate your account for a specific period of time. If you reactivate your account within 30 days of deactivation, you will get your profile back with its complete data. However, if you did not activate your account within the 30 days period, your account will be deleted on a permanent basis and you will not be able to get it again.